skip to Main Content

We stand for an empathic world without prejudice

Dialoghaus is 100% driven by its Mission

We want to create awareness. For the social contribution which disabled, disadvantaged
and older people make.

We want to promote the economic situation of blind, deaf and elderly people.
We achieve our goals by running exhibitions and workshops.

The vision behind this is to make an important contribution in order
to overcome
exclusion and injustice.

Despite many positive changes on the political level, participation in public life or inclusive education, many people still do not have equal chances to lead a self-determined life. The barriers for this are mainly rooted in the minds of society. To overcome them, we run our exhibitions and seminars.

Milestones

Since its opening in April 2000, the Dialoghaus has welcomed over 1.7 million people. Every year, over 100,000 visitors visit the exhibitions Dialogue in the Dark, Dialogue in Silence and Dialogue with Time. Dialogue exhibitions are also offered worldwide. More than eight million people in 38 countries and 170 cities have experienced Dialogue in the Dark, Dialogue in Silence or Dialogue with Time. This remarkable success is also reflected in the balance sheet of our employees: 8,000 visually impaired, blind or deaf people find jobs worldwide.

Exhibitions and workshops for more empathy and inclusion

The Dialogue exhibitions are based on a methodology and logic of impact. The aim is to open up a personal emotional experience for the visitors and to enable an authentic encounter with people who are experts in their own field. We create the emotion through immersion. The experience of total darkness in dialogue in the dark or the confrontation of silence in dialogue in silence. In the dark, blind people can “see”, while the visitors* are “blind” for a certain time. In silence deaf people can communicate, while the hearing audience learns to express themselves non-verbally. Older people get in contact with the younger generation and prove through their personality which values arise in a late phase of life.

This role reversal leads to a change of perspective. It also leads to a change in the way people with and without disabilities, younger and older people interact. In summary we say:

  • The human being is at the centre. Dialogue is the programme.
  • The mediation is done by people with different backgrounds
  • The exhibition is a platform for encounter.
  • The exhibition conveys true life stories. Everything is real and not constructed.
  • The learning aims at breaking up thought patterns and clichés.
  • The transfer of knowledge is in the background.
  • In the foreground stands a change in behaviour.

The social enterprise

The Dialoghaus in Hamburg employs around 100 people. Of these, 60 percent are deaf or visually impaired. All employees, whether with or without disabilities, make an active contribution to an inclusive society.

Indirectly, our visitors also contribute to the participation of people with disabilities in social life. They enable us to offer income and recognition to people who are still frequently denied this basic right due to prejudice and exclusion.

Empathy and an unprejudiced way of dealing with each other without moralising “raised forefinger” is the content and purpose of our business model. Social sustainability is the measure of our success. Economic activity and economic stability therefore only serve the long-term development and sustainability of the company and its employees.

Dialoghaus Hamburg gGmbH is acknowledged as a non-profit organisation since 2016.

A Story of Conviction, Persistence and Success

Andreas Heinecke is one of the first and certainly one of the most successful German social entrepreneurs.

During his work for the broadcast station Südwestfunk in 1988, he introduced a blind colleague to the editorial workaday routine. From the very first second, the expected helper-victim situation turned into an encounter with swapped roles. The effect was so lasting that Andreas Heinecke experimented with an experience for non-blind people in complete darkness. The result was the exhibition Dialogue in the Dark, in which blind exhibition guides convey a change of perspective to the visitor.

In 1989 Dialogue in the Dark was presented for the first time in Frankfurt. Since then, there have been exhibitions and workshops in cooperation with local partners worldwide. Millions of people visit Dialogue in the Dark and experience tolerance and empathy for the “sight” of the other from their own perception. Since 1997, the exhibition Dialogue in Silence has also contributed to this. Dialogue with Time was first shown in 2014/2015 and 2016 in Frankfurt, Berlin and Bern. Since 2018, the experience exhibition has been part of the range on offer at Dialoghaus Hamburg.

Andreas Heinecke has received several awards for his work. Among other things, he has been the first “Ashoka Fellow” in Europe since 2005; he is a member of the Global Agenda Council on Social Entrepreneurship of the World Economic Forum (WEF) and Global Fellow of the Schwab Foundation. Dr. Andreas Heinecke studied history and literature and holds a doctorate in philosophy. Since 2011 he is Professor for Social Business at the European Business School.

In 2008, Andreas Heinecke established Dialogue Social Enterprise GmbH as the umbrella for all dialogue concepts and as a consulting company for the worldwide exhibitions and workshops.

OUR NETWORK

Back To Top

skip to Main Content

Wir stehen für eine empathische Welt ohne Vorurteile

Das Dialoghaus ist zu 100% von seiner Mission getrieben.

Wir wollen Bewusstsein schaffen für den gesellschaftlichen Beitrag von behinderten, benachteiligten und älteren Menschen. Wir wollen die ökonomische Situation von blinden, gehörlosen und älteren Menschen fördern. Unsere Ziele erreichen wir durch den Betrieb von Ausstellungen und Workshops.

Dahinter steht die Vision einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Überwindung von Ausgrenzung und Ungerechtigkeit zu leisten. Trotz vieler positiven Veränderungen auf politischer Ebene, der Teilnahme am öffentlichen Leben oder inklusiver Bildung, haben immer noch viele Menschen nicht die gleichen Chancen ein selbst bestimmtes Leben zu führen. Die Barrieren sind vor allem in den Köpfen der Gesellschaft. Um diese abzubauen, betreiben wir unsere Ausstellungen und Seminare.

Satzung, Jahresabschlüsse, Organigramm & Wirkungsberichte

Meilensteine

Das Dialoghaus hat seit der Eröffnung im April 2000 über 1,7 Millionen Menschen empfangen. Jährlich besuchen über 100.000 Besucher die Ausstellungen Dialog im Dunkeln, Dialog im Stillen und Dialog mit der Zeit. Dialog Ausstellungen gibt es auch weltweit. Mehr als acht Millionen Menschen in 38 Ländern und 170 Städten haben einen Dialog im Dunkeln, Dialog im Stillen oder Dialog mit der Zeit erlebt. Dieser beachtliche Erfolg spiegelt sich auch in der Bilanz der Beschäftigten: 8.000 sehbehinderte, blinde oder gehörlose Menschen finden weltweit einen Arbeitsplatz. 

Ausstellungen und Workshops für mehr Empathie und Inklusion

Die Dialog-Ausstellungen beruhen auf einer Methodik und Wirkungslogik. Ziel ist es den Besuchern eine persönliche emotionale Erfahrung zu eröffnen und eine authentische Begegnung mit Menschen zu ermöglichen, die Experten in eigener Sache sind. Die Emotion erzeugen wir durch Immersion. Die Erfahrung von völliger Dunkelheit bei Dialog im Dunkeln oder die Konfrontation von Stille bei Dialog im Stillen. Im Dunkeln können blinde Menschen „sehen“, während die Besucher*innen für eine bestimmte Zeit „blind“ sind. In der Stille können gehörlose Menschen kommunizieren, während das hörende Publikum lernt sich nonverbal auszudrücken. Ältere Menschen treten mit der jungen Generation in den Kontakt und beweisen durch ihre Persönlichkeit welche Werte sich in einer späten Lebensphase einstellen.

Dieser Rollentausch führt zu einem Perspektivenwechsel. Er führt auch zu einer Veränderung im Umgang zwischen Menschen mit und ohne Behinderungen, jüngeren und älteren Personen. Zusammenfassend sagen wir:

  • Im Zentrum steht der Mensch. Der Dialog ist das Programm.
  • Die Vermittlung geschieht durch Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen
  • Die Ausstellung ist eine Plattform zur Begegnung.
  • Die Ausstellung vermittelt wahre Lebensgeschichten. Alles ist real und nicht konstruiert.
  • Das Lernen zielt auf das Aufbrechen von Denkmustern und Klischees.
  • Der Wissenstransfer steht im Hintergrund.
  • Im Vordergrund steht eine Veränderung des Verhaltens.

Das Sozialunternehmen

Das Dialoghaus in Hamburg beschäftigt über ca. 100 Mitarbeiter. Davon sind 60 Prozent gehörlos oder sehbehindert. Alle Mitarbeiter, ob mit und ohne Einschränkung, leisten einen aktiven Beitrag zu einer inklusiven Gesellschaft. Indirekt leisten unsere Besucher auch einen Beitrag zur Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderung am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Sie ermöglichen uns, den Menschen ein Einkommen und Anerkennung zu bieten, denen dieses Grundrecht aufgrund von Vorurteilen und Ausgrenzung nach wie vor häufig verwehrt bleibt.

Empathie und ein vorurteilsfreier Umgang miteinander ohne moralisierenden „erhobenen Zeigefinger“ ist Inhalt und Zweck unseres Geschäftsmodells. Soziale Nachhaltigkeit ist die Messlatte unseres Erfolgs. Wirtschaftliches Handeln und wirtschaftliche Stabilität dienen daher allein der langfristigen Entwicklung und Zukunftsfähigkeit des Unternehmens und seiner Mitarbeiter. Dialoghaus Hamburg gGmbH ist seit 2016 als gemeinnützig anerkannt. 

Eine Story von Überzeugung, Ausdauer und Erfolg

Andreas Heinecke ist einer der ersten und sicher einer der erfolgreichsten deutschen Sozialunternehmer.

Während seiner Arbeit für den Südwestfunk 1988 führt er einen erblindeten Kollegen in den redaktionellen Arbeitsalltag ein. Aus der erwarteten Helfer-Opfer-Situation wurde von der ersten Sekunde an eine Begegnung mit vertauschten Rollen. Der Effekt war so nachhaltig, dass Andreas Heinecke mit einem Erlebnis für Nicht-Blinde in kompletter Dunkelheit experimentierte. Es entstand die Ausstellung Dialog im Dunkeln, in der blinde Ausstellungsführer dem Besucher einen Perspektivenwechsel vermitteln.

1989 wurde Dialog im Dunkeln zum ersten Mal in Frankfurt präsentiert. Seitdem gibt es Ausstellungen und Workshops in Kooperation mit lokalen Partnern weltweit. Millionen Menschen besuchen einen Dialog im Dunkeln und erfahren aus eigener Wahrnehmung Toleranz und Empathie für die „Sicht“ des Anderen. Seit 1997 trägt dazu auch die Ausstellung Dialog im Stillen bei. Dialog mit der Zeit wurde zunächst 2014/2015 und 2016 in Frankfurt, Berlin und Bern gezeigt. Seit 2018 ist die Erlebnisausstellung Teil des Angebotes im Dialoghaus Hamburg.

Andreas Heinecke wurde mehrfach für seine Arbeit ausgezeichnet. Unter anderem ist er seit 2005 erster „Ashoka-Fellow“ in Europa; er ist Mitglied des Global Agenda Council on Social Entrepreneurship des Weltwirtschaftsforum (WEF) und Global Fellow der Schwab Foundation. Dr. Andreas Heinecke studierte Geschichte und Literatur und promovierte in Philosophie. Seit 2011 ist er Professor für Social Business an der European Business School.

2008 etablierte Andreas Heinecke die Dialogue Social Enterprise GmbH als Dach für alle Dialog-Konzepte und als Beratungsunternehmen für die weltweiten Ausstellungen und Workshops.

UNSERE PARTNER

Hinterlassen Sie uns eine Nachricht: Wir melden uns. 🠦 Kontaktformular
Back To Top